• 116
  • 0

Yes, weed is legal for both patients and adults 21 and older. Public consumption may result in a $100 fine. Possession of 1 ounce to 0 grams is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine. Legislative History Medical marijuana was legalized in Washington with Proposal 692 (I-692), the Act Authorizing the Medical Use of Marijuana (1998) that passed with almost 60% of the vote. The initiative allowed patients with certain debilitating conditions, terminal illnesses or severe pain to use medical marijuana. I-692 also provided legal protection to qualified patients and their caregivers for the possession and use of medical marijuana. Washington’s Marijuana Legalization and Regulation Initiative Initiative 502 (I-502) passed the statewide ballot in 2012 with 55 percent of the vote. I-502 legalized the use and possession of marijuana for adults 21 and older and created a regulatory structure for the state’s cannabis industry, creating a framework for the production and sale of adult marijuana. It gave the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board (WSLCB) oversight of statewide marijuana licensing and regulation. Shortly after the state legalized recreational cannabis in 2015, the Washington legislature passed SB 5052, the Cannabis Patient Protection Act (CPPA), which imposes formal state regulations on local marijuana businesses covering the production, possession, sale and use of medical cannabis. . Purchasing Cannabis Cannabis can only be legally purchased from a state licensed dealer, whether for medicinal or recreational use. Retailers who sell specifically to patients are called medically licensed stores in Washington, not pharmacies. Patients registered in the Medical Marijuana Database may purchase any combination of the following amounts: 3 ounces (85 grams) of cannabis 8 ounces (1.36 kilograms) of infused products in solid form 1.69 gallons (6. liters) of infused products in liquid form 21 grams of concentrate Adults 21 years of age or older and unregistered patients may purchase a combination of the following amounts: 1 ounce (28.35 grams) of usable marijuana 16 ounces ( 5 grams) of infused products in solid form 72 ounces (2.13 liters) infused products in liquid form 7 grams of cannabis concentrate Adult purchasers must present government issued identification showing their age and patients must present a medical marijuana registration card. Tribal cards are valid as identification if they meet the following requirements: The tribe has notified the government that it intends to use the ID card to purchase marijuana The registration card has a photo, signature and date of birth The registration card has security. features comparable to a state driver’s license The Washington state marijuana tax is to retail consumers. Under state law, all retail sales of marijuana are subject to a 37 percent excise tax in addition to the regular state and local sales tax. Physicians are not subject to excise or retail sales tax. Medically licensed stores are allowed to supply marijuana to low-income patients. Cannabis Consumption Consumption of marijuana or marijuana-infused products in a public place is illegal. Cannabis should not be used anywhere smoking is prohibited or in a vehicle. Possession Under adult laws, adults 21 years of age and older may not possess more than: 1 ounce (28 grams) of usable marijuana 16 ounces ( 5 grams) of infused products in solid form 72 liters of liquid . ounces of infused products in liquid form 7 grams of cannabis concentrate Medical marijuana patients may not have more than: 3 ounces (85 grams) of cannabis 8 ounces (1.3 kilograms) of infused products in solid form 1.69 liters of products in liquid form 21 grams of concentrate Driving under the influence of cannabis is illegal, as is consumption in vehicles for drivers and passengers. Consumers can transport cannabis in their vehicles, but it must be in a closed container or trunk. However, it is illegal to transport open packages or containers of cannabis or marijuana products. Transporting cannabis across state lines is still illegal. Washington states that 5 nanograms of active THC per milliliter of blood is the legal limit for driving, and a blood test can be done at a police station or medical facility. The state recommends waiting at least five hours after inhalation before driving and longer after eating edibles. cultivation cultivation of adult cannabis at home is illegal. However, medical patients on the Medical Marijuana Database can grow six plants and have 8 ounces of usable marijuana from those plants at home, unless a doctor prescribes a higher amount. A healthcare professional can allow patients to produce up to 15 plants and up to 16 ounces ( 5 grams) of usable marijuana from their own plants. Patients who have permission from a health care provider but are not registered in the database can grow up to four plants and have 6 ounces of each. Medical Marijuana Registry The Department of Health administers the Medical Marijuana Program. Only cannabis patients in the permit database with a medical marijuana ID can purchase products without sales and use tax and in larger quantities than recreational customers. Health cards expire annually for adults and every six months for minors, but some licensed health care providers may set an earlier expiration date. Visit a medically licensed store to obtain a medical marijuana card. Stores must charge a minimum of $1 per card, but there is no maximum price. Designated Caregivers Patients under the age of 18 must have a designated caregiver(s) and adult patients may choose one to purchase or grow marijuana. Selected service providers must: be at least 21 years of age

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *